photomopOpen the studio

Head to head

Photomop vs Cutout.Pro

One is a broad cloud platform metered in credits, with a passport tool we have not built yet. The other is a set of photo tools running on your own machine. Volume and confidentiality decide it.

Prices checked 10 August 2026Nothing uploadedSources linked

The short answer

Cutout.Pro is a cloud platform covering background removal, retouching, colourising, video and passport photos, metered in credits that roll over up to five times the monthly allocation. Photomop is an on-device studio: models run in your browser tab, so photos are never uploaded and there are no credits to count.

Updated

Key takeaways

  • Cutout.Pro gives 5 free credits on signup, with previews described as permanently free.
  • Unused Cutout.Pro credits roll over up to five times the monthly allocation, which is more generous than most.
  • Cutout.Pro's US dollar ladder runs from $5.00 a month for 80 credits to $69.00 for 1450.
  • Photomop processes images on your own device, so there is no per-image cost for us to meter.
  • Cutout.Pro ships a Passport Photo Maker today. Photomop's passport tool is not built yet.

What is actually built on our side today

Not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device. We put that first rather than at the bottom, because it is the thing most likely to send you to Cutout.Pro instead, and you should find it out here rather than after you have opened a tab.

Side by side

Photomop and Cutout.Pro, feature by feature

Every cell below is a fact one of the two of us publishes. Where we could not read a number on Cutout.Pro’s own pages, the row says so rather than repeating what other sites claim.

Photomop compared with Cutout.Pro on processing location, free tier limits, pricing and platform support
PhotomopCutout.Pro
Where processing happensOn your own device, in the tabOn their servers, after your photo is uploaded
Free export resolutionNo cap we impose. Your device sets the ceilingNot published
Watermark on a free exportNo watermark on any exportNot published
Free allowanceNo per-image credits and no export counter5 free credits on signup, previews described as permanently free, and credits that roll over up to five times the monthly allocation
Account to use the free toolEditing starts the moment the page loadsNot published
Paid plan starts at$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearly$5.00 a month
Where it runsWeb on desktop, Web on mobile, Works offline once loadedWeb, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, Shopify plugin, API
Works with no connectionYes, once the page and any model are cachedNo, the image has to reach their servers

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Cutout.Pro figures were read at www.cutout.pro on 10 August 2026. Pricing changes; check theirs before you buy.
  • We could not confirm at source: whether the US dollar figures above are the same ones shown to a buyer outside the United States, since the page picks its currency from the country it places you in; whether Cutout.Pro offers annual billing anywhere, as no annual option was visible on the pricing page; whether Cutout.Pro watermarks a free export; the resolution a free Cutout.Pro download comes back at; Cutout.Pro API plan prices; whether an account is required to use the free preview.

Where does each one process your photo?

Cutout.Pro is a cloud platform. You upload an image, its servers run the model, and the result comes back down, which is why there is a credit counter at all. Every credit corresponds to real GPU time somebody has to pay for, and that same logic explains the free preview: showing you a small result costs less than producing a full one.

Photomop works the other way round. The model downloads to your device once, caches there, and then runs inside the tab through WebGPU where the browser supports it and WebAssembly everywhere else. Your file is read from disk into memory, processed, and written back out as a download. It never reaches a server of ours, which you can confirm in your own network tab.

What does Cutout.Pro's free tier actually give you?

Cutout.Pro's image pricing page states three useful things about free use. New accounts get 5 free credits on signup. Previews are described as permanently free, which means you can see the result before spending anything. And credits roll over, up to five times the monthly allocation, so a quiet month is not simply forfeited. That last rule is more generous than most in this category.

What the page does not say is what a free export actually looks like. The watermark policy is not disclosed there, and neither is the resolution a free download comes back at, so this page states neither. Photomop's side is simpler: no watermark on any export, no export counter, and the file comes back at the resolution you brought it in at.

What do Cutout.Pro's paid tiers cost?

There is a wrinkle worth naming first. Cutout.Pro picks the currency from the country it places your connection in, so the same page shows different money to different people and a figure quoted without a country attached to it means very little. The figures below are the US dollar ones, read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page on 10 August 2026.

Six monthly tiers: 80 credits at $5.00, 170 at $9.90, 300 at $16.90, 550 at $29.00, 1000 at $49.00 and 1450 at $69.00. That is $0.063 an image at the bottom and $0.048 at the top, so the discount for committing to volume is real but small. No annual billing option was visible on the page, and the same rates are quoted for API calls.

Which one can make a passport photo today?

Cutout.Pro ships a Passport Photo Maker, which is one of the few genuine overlaps with something we plan. Passport work is a real job with real rules: a country sets the print size, the head height range and the background colour, and a photo that misses any of them gets rejected at the counter. A tool that encodes those rules saves an expensive second trip.

Ours is not built. A passport tool is on Photomop's list and does not have a working page yet, so if you need a compliant passport photo this week, Cutout.Pro has one and we do not. The case for doing it on your own device is strong, since a passport photo is a picture of your face attached to an identity document, but that case is about the future.

What does Cutout.Pro do that Photomop does not?

Quite a lot beyond the cut-out. Cutout.Pro lists AI image generation, face cutout, retouch object removal, a photo enhancer, a photo colouriser, the passport maker and video background removal. It runs on the web, on iOS and Android, on Mac and Windows desktop, through a Shopify plugin and through an API. That is a broad platform, and Photomop has no equivalent for most of it.

The Shopify plugin and the API are the two that matter most for a seller. A plugin that sits in the shop admin means images get handled where the listings already live, and a documented API means the same output can be wired into a pipeline. Photomop has no hosted API today, and on-device processing makes a server-side API an awkward thing to offer.

What each one costs

How much is Photomop against Cutout.Pro?

Both ladders in full, monthly and yearly, because the large number on a pricing page is almost always the yearly rate and almost nobody pays it in month one.

Plan by plan pricing for Photomop and Cutout.Pro, with what each plan includes
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Photomop Free$0 a monthEvery tool at full resolution, with no watermark on the way out
Photomop Pro$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearlyUnattended batch over a folder, HD background packs, an API with 1,000 images a month, early access to new tools. Not open for purchase yet
Cutout.Pro 80 credits a month$5.00 a month80 image credits a month. Cutout.Pro serves this page in the currency of the country it thinks you are in, so the figure here is the US dollar price read at their own image pricing page on 10 August 2026
Cutout.Pro 170 credits a month$9.90 a month170 image credits a month, at the US dollar price read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page
Cutout.Pro 300 credits a month$16.90 a month300 image credits a month, at the US dollar price read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page
Cutout.Pro 550 credits a month$29.00 a month550 image credits a month, at the US dollar price read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page
Cutout.Pro 1000 credits a month$49.00 a month1000 image credits a month, at the US dollar price read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page
Cutout.Pro 1450 credits a month$69.00 a month1450 image credits a month, at the US dollar price read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page. No annual billing option was visible on the page

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photomop Pro is published but not open for purchase yet. The pricing page says so plainly and the changelog records the day that changes.

Who should pick Photomop, and who should pick Cutout.Pro?

Both columns are the same length on purpose. If ours were twice as long you would be reading an advert.

Photomop

Pick this if the photo should not leave your machine, or you want full-resolution exports with no watermark and no credits to count.

  • Photos are processed on your own device and never uploaded
  • Free exports come back at the resolution you brought, with no watermark
  • No per-image credits and no account as things stand today
Open the toolbox

Cutout.Pro

Pick this if you need video background removal, a Shopify plugin or a passport photo today, and rollover credits fit your workload.

  • Credits roll over up to five times the monthly allocation, so a quiet month is not simply forfeited
  • A Passport Photo Maker, which very few tools in this category ship at all
  • Desktop apps for Mac and Windows alongside web, iOS, Android, a Shopify plugin and an API
Visit Cutout.Pro

The honest version

The case against us is short and worth saying out loud: upscale image, remove object and passport photo do not have a working page yet, so those jobs need another tool today, and there is no hosted API today, so a workflow that needs one has to look elsewhere. If either of those is the thing you need this week, Cutout.Pro is the better answer today and this page is not going to argue otherwise.

Questions people ask

Photomop and Cutout.Pro, answered

The things people search for once they have narrowed it down to these two.

Is Cutout.Pro free to use?

You get 5 free credits on signup, and its pricing page describes previews as permanently free, so you can see a result before spending anything. Past those credits you need a monthly tier. The page does not disclose the watermark policy or the resolution of a free export, so neither is stated here.

How much does Cutout.Pro cost in dollars?

From $5.00 a month for 80 image credits up to $69.00 for 1450, read at Cutout.Pro's own image pricing page on 10 August 2026. The tiers in between are $9.90 for 170, $16.90 for 300, $29.00 for 550 and $49.00 for 1000. The page serves whichever currency matches the country it places you in, so check it from where you are before subscribing.

Do Cutout.Pro credits expire?

Its pricing page states that credits roll over up to five times the monthly allocation, which is more generous than most vendors in this category manage. That suits an uneven workload, where a quiet month funds a busy one. Photomop has no credits at all, because there is no per-image server cost to meter.

Does Photomop upload my photos anywhere?

No. Every tool runs on your own device inside the browser tab. Your file is read from disk into memory, processed there, and written back out as a download. Nothing is sent to us, which is why the tools keep working when your connection drops. You can confirm it in your browser's network tab.

Can Photomop make a passport photo?

Not yet. A passport tool is planned but it does not have a working page yet. Cutout.Pro ships a Passport Photo Maker now, so if you need a compliant photo this week that is the one that exists. Ours is in build, and this page will say so until it is not.

Does Cutout.Pro offer annual billing?

No annual option was visible on the pricing page when we read it on 10 August 2026, so every tier there is a monthly commitment. That matters if your work is seasonal, though rollover credits soften it. Check at cutout.pro before subscribing, since pricing pages in this category change frequently.

Try the part that is built

Resize, crop, compress, convert and batch edit all work right now, on your own device, at full resolution and with no watermark. No account, nothing uploaded. Read how the on-device pipeline works if you want to check that claim before you trust it with a client’s photo, or the pricing page for where the paid line falls.