photomopOpen the studio

Head to head

Photomop vs Clipdrop

One resets your allowance every morning and runs on servers. The other runs on your own machine, where there is no allowance to reset in the first place.

Prices checked 10 August 2026Nothing uploadedSources linked

The short answer

Photomop runs on your own device, so photos are never uploaded and free exports come back at the resolution you brought with no watermark. Clipdrop is a cloud suite whose free tier allows 20 background removals per 24 hours and resets daily. Its Pro tier raises that to 1,000, but no price is rendered in the page.

Updated

Key takeaways

  • Clipdrop processes every image on its servers, while Photomop processes yours in the tab so nothing is uploaded.
  • Clipdrop's free tier allows 20 background removals per 24 hours and resets, rather than draining a credit balance.
  • Clipdrop Pro raises that to 1,000 removals per 24 hours, but no dollar figure is rendered in the pricing page.
  • Photomop imposes no export cap and adds no watermark, because there is no server cost for us to meter.
  • Clipdrop is web and API only, with tools such as Cleanup, Relight, Uncrop and Text Remover that Photomop has no answer to.

What is actually built on our side today

Not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device. We put that first rather than at the bottom, because it is the thing most likely to send you to Clipdrop instead, and you should find it out here rather than after you have opened a tab.

Side by side

Photomop and Clipdrop, feature by feature

Every cell below is a fact one of the two of us publishes. Where we could not read a number on Clipdrop’s own pages, the row says so rather than repeating what other sites claim.

Photomop compared with Clipdrop on processing location, free tier limits, pricing and platform support
PhotomopClipdrop
Where processing happensOn your own device, in the tabOn their servers, after your photo is uploaded
Free export resolutionNo cap we impose. Your device sets the ceilingNot published
Watermark on a free exportNo watermark on any exportNot published
Free allowanceNo per-image credits and no export counter20 background removals per 24 hours, 20 each for the x2 Image Upscaler, Cleanup and Relight, 50 for Text Remover, and text to image and Uncrop shown without a daily figure on this tier
Account to use the free toolEditing starts the moment the page loadsNot published
Paid plan starts at$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearlyNot published
Where it runsWeb on desktop, Web on mobile, Works offline once loadedWeb, API
Works with no connectionYes, once the page and any model are cachedNo, the image has to reach their servers

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Clipdrop figures were read at clipdrop.co on 10 August 2026. Pricing changes; check theirs before you buy.
  • We could not confirm at source: the monthly and annual price of Clipdrop Pro, which is not rendered in the pricing page; whether Clipdrop watermarks any free output; export resolution figures on either the free or the Pro tier; whether an account is required to use the free tier.

Where does each one process your photo?

Clipdrop is a cloud service. You upload a file, their servers run the model, and the result comes back down. That is why there is a per tool daily limit, why Pro exists to raise it, and why Skip Queue is a paid feature at all: a queue only exists because somebody else's hardware is doing the work and other people are waiting for it too.

Photomop works the other way round. The model downloads to your device once, caches there, and runs in the tab through WebGPU where the browser supports it and WebAssembly everywhere else. Your file is read from disk into memory, processed, and written back out as a download. It never reaches a server of ours, which is stronger than a policy promising nobody will look at it.

How does a daily limit compare with credits?

It suits a different rhythm, and Clipdrop deserves credit for choosing it. Twenty background removals per 24 hours, twenty each for Cleanup, Relight and the x2 upscaler, and fifty text removals. Nothing drains and nothing expires, so a quiet fortnight costs you nothing. Against a credit balance that lapses with a subscription, that is genuinely friendlier for irregular work.

It suits bursts badly. Sixty images on a Tuesday afternoon means twenty today, twenty tomorrow and twenty the day after that, unless you upgrade to Pro or wait it out. Photomop imposes no daily limit, because your own hardware is doing the work, so sixty images is simply sixty images, finished in one sitting at whatever speed your machine manages.

What does Clipdrop Pro actually cost?

We could not tell you, and it is worth being straight about why. Clipdrop's pricing page lists what Pro includes, 1,000 background removals per 24 hours, an upscaler to x16, high resolution Cleanup, Relight and Text Remover, and Skip Queue, but no dollar figure is rendered in the page we read. Rather than repeat a number from a review site, this page states that it is not published.

The API is described as usage based with no flat rate alongside it, so the same caveat applies. Photomop's own pricing is published, which is easy for us to say when the current answer is free: the paid plan is $8 a month, or $5 a month billed yearly, and it is not open for purchase yet.

What does Clipdrop do that Photomop does not?

The neighbouring tools, mostly. Cleanup removes an object and repairs what was behind it. Relight changes the lighting on a subject. Uncrop extends a frame past its original edges. Text Remover strips lettering from a photo. Those are all model backed jobs Photomop does not attempt, and each is a plausible reason to keep a Clipdrop tab open.

There is a blunter gap too. Clipdrop upscales, relights and cleans up objects today and we do not: upscaling, object removal and the passport photo tool do not have a working page yet. If you need one of those this afternoon, that is a real argument and this page will not try to talk you out of it.

Does it matter who owns Clipdrop?

A little, and it is worth one plain sentence. Clipdrop's own material describes the product passing from Init ML to Stability AI and then to Jasper.ai. Tools change hands often in this market, and each move can shift a roadmap, a price or an API contract, so if you are wiring Clipdrop into something that has to keep working, plan for that.

It cuts both ways for us too. Photomop is a young product with tools still in build, which is its own kind of risk. The difference worth noting is that a tool running on your device keeps working from cache even when the company behind it is busy elsewhere, because nothing has to be served for the model to run.

What each one costs

How much is Photomop against Clipdrop?

Both ladders in full, monthly and yearly, because the large number on a pricing page is almost always the yearly rate and almost nobody pays it in month one.

Plan by plan pricing for Photomop and Clipdrop, with what each plan includes
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Photomop Free$0 a monthEvery tool at full resolution, with no watermark on the way out
Photomop Pro$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearlyUnattended batch over a folder, HD background packs, an API with 1,000 images a month, early access to new tools. Not open for purchase yet
Clipdrop ProNot published1,000 background removals per 24 hours, the high resolution upscaler up to x16, high resolution Cleanup, Relight and Text Remover, and Skip Queue. The entitlements are printed in the pricing page but no dollar figure is rendered there, so this page does not quote a price
Clipdrop APINot publishedUsage based rather than a flat monthly rate, with no fixed price shown alongside the plan comparison

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photomop Pro is published but not open for purchase yet. The pricing page says so plainly and the changelog records the day that changes.

Who should pick Photomop, and who should pick Clipdrop?

Both columns are the same length on purpose. If ours were twice as long you would be reading an advert.

Photomop

Pick this if the photo should not leave your machine, or you have a burst of images to finish in one sitting rather than twenty a day.

  • Photos are processed on your own device and never uploaded
  • Free exports come back at the resolution you brought, with no watermark
  • No per-image credits and no account as things stand today
Open the toolbox

Clipdrop

Pick this if you want Cleanup, Relight, Uncrop and Text Remover alongside the cut-out, and twenty a day covers your usual work.

  • Twenty free background removals per 24 hours is one of the more generous published free allowances in this category
  • The daily rate limit resets, so a slow week costs you nothing and there is no balance to watch draining away
  • Each tool does one job well, and Cleanup, Relight, Uncrop and Text Remover are genuinely useful next to the cut-out
Visit Clipdrop

The honest version

The case against us is short and worth saying out loud: upscale image, remove object and passport photo do not have a working page yet, so those jobs need another tool today, and there is no hosted API today, so a workflow that needs one has to look elsewhere. If either of those is the thing you need this week, Clipdrop is the better answer today and this page is not going to argue otherwise.

Questions people ask

Photomop and Clipdrop, answered

The things people search for once they have narrowed it down to these two.

How many free background removals does Clipdrop allow?

Twenty per 24 hours on the free tier, alongside twenty each for Cleanup, Relight and the x2 Image Upscaler, and fifty for Text Remover. The allowance resets rather than draining, so an unused day is not lost, but a burst of sixty images has to be spread across three days.

How much does Clipdrop Pro cost?

We could not read a price at source. Clipdrop's pricing page lists what Pro includes, including 1,000 background removals per 24 hours and an upscaler to x16, but renders no dollar figure. Rather than quote a number from a review site, this page says the price is not published. Check before you subscribe.

Does Clipdrop need an account to use for free?

We could not confirm that at source, so this page does not state it either way. What is verified is the free allowance itself: twenty background removals per 24 hours. Photomop does not ask you to sign in as things stand today, and the working tools run straight from the page on your own device.

Does Clipdrop watermark free images?

We could not confirm a watermark policy on Clipdrop's own pages, so this page does not state one either way, and you should check before relying on it. Photomop adds no watermark on any export, at any resolution, on any plan, because there is nothing metered on our side.

Does Photomop upload my photos anywhere?

No. Every tool runs on your own device inside the tab. Your file is read from disk into memory, processed there, and written back out as a download. Nothing is sent to us, which is also why the working tools keep going when your connection drops. Check it in your network tab.

Can Photomop remove backgrounds today?

Yes. The background remover has a working page and it runs the matting model in your own browser tab, so the photo is never uploaded. What is not built yet is upscaling, object removal and the passport photo tool, and Clipdrop does all three today.

Try the part that is built

Resize, crop, compress, convert and batch edit all work right now, on your own device, at full resolution and with no watermark. No account, nothing uploaded. Read how the on-device pipeline works if you want to check that claim before you trust it with a client’s photo, or the pricing page for where the paid line falls.