photomopOpen the studio

Head to head

Photomop vs Photopea

Both of these run on your own hardware and upload nothing. That makes this the closest comparison on the site, and the fork is about how you like to work rather than about privacy.

Prices checked 10 August 2026Nothing uploadedSources linked

The short answer

Photopea and Photomop both process files on your own device, so neither uploads your image. Photopea is a Photoshop-shaped general editor with layers, masks and scripts, funded by ads that cover roughly 5% to 15% of the screen. Photomop is single-purpose tools with presets, no ads and no export cap.

Updated

Key takeaways

  • Photopea and Photomop both process files on your own hardware, so on privacy the two are equals.
  • Photopea's privacy page states that files opened in the editor are never sent anywhere at all.
  • Photopea is funded by ads covering roughly 5% to 15% of the screen, depending on your device.
  • Photopea is a general canvas with layers and masks. Photomop is a set of single jobs with presets.
  • Photopea Premium is published at $5.00 a month, and Photopea for Schools starts at $450 a year.

What is actually built on our side today

Not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device. We put that first rather than at the bottom, because it is the thing most likely to send you to Photopea instead, and you should find it out here rather than after you have opened a tab.

Side by side

Photomop and Photopea, feature by feature

Every cell below is a fact one of the two of us publishes. Where we could not read a number on Photopea’s own pages, the row says so rather than repeating what other sites claim.

Photomop compared with Photopea on processing location, free tier limits, pricing and platform support
PhotomopPhotopea
Where processing happensOn your own device, in the tabOn your own device
Free export resolutionNo cap we impose. Your device sets the ceilingNot published
Watermark on a free exportNo watermark on any exportNot published
Free allowanceNo per-image credits and no export counterAds cover roughly 5% to 15% of the screen depending on the device, and no export counter is documented
Account to use the free toolEditing starts the moment the page loadsNo, an account is only needed for PeaDrive cloud storage or to buy Premium
Paid plan starts at$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearly$5.00 a month
Where it runsWeb on desktop, Web on mobile, Works offline once loadedWeb, API
Works with no connectionYes, once the page and any model are cachedYes

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photopea figures were read at www.photopea.com on 10 August 2026. Pricing changes; check theirs before you buy.
  • We could not confirm at source: any free-tier usage limit on Photopea's AI features; PeaDrive storage caps on the free tier and on Premium; the annual price of Photopea Premium; the current feature set that Photopea Premium includes; any export resolution cap on the free tier; Photopea's watermark policy.

Where does each one process your photo?

This is the one comparison on the site where the answer is the same on both sides. Photopea's privacy page states that files opened in Photopea are never sent anywhere, that they never leave your device, and that they are processed completely inside it by your own hardware. Photomop works the same way: the model loads once, caches, and then runs in the tab on your own machine.

So privacy is not the deciding factor here, and any page telling you otherwise has an agenda. Neither tool uploads your image, neither has a retention window for you to read, and you can confirm both in your own network tab in about a minute. Choose on what the two products actually do instead, because that is where they genuinely diverge.

What does each free plan actually give you?

Photopea's editor needs no account as things stand today. An account is only required for PeaDrive cloud storage or to buy Premium. The cost of that is advertising: Photopea's own explainer says ads cover roughly 5% to 15% of the screen depending on the device you are on. No export cap or watermark policy is documented, so this page states neither.

Photomop shows no ads and starts editing the moment the page loads, and exports come back at the resolution you brought with no watermark. That is not generosity, it is arithmetic: your hardware does the work, so there is nothing for us to meter. The honest caveat is that upscaling, object removal and the passport photo tool do not have a working page yet.

What does Photopea do that Photomop does not?

Almost everything a general editor does. Layers, masks, layer styles, selection tools, a text tool, vector shapes, actions and scripts. It opens PSD, XCF, Sketch, XD and CDR, which means a layered file from Photoshop, GIMP, Sketch, Adobe XD or CorelDRAW arrives with its structure intact. Photomop has no layer stack and no canvas of that kind at all.

It also has years of maturity behind it and a free API for embedding the editor inside another product. If your work involves opening somebody else's layered document, retouching by hand, or building a composition from parts, Photopea is the tool and this page is not going to argue you out of it. Nothing here does that job better.

What does Photomop do that Photopea does not?

Photomop is not a canvas, it is single-purpose tools with presets. Each one opens on the job rather than on an empty document. If you need an image at a marketplace's exact pixel spec, you pick the preset rather than reading the spec, opening a document and setting up a transform.

There are also no ads, which on a small laptop screen is worth more than it sounds when a rival is using up to about 15% of it. Some of the toolbox is still in build, so judge the comparison on what opens today rather than on what is listed.

Which one costs less over a year?

Photopea Premium is published at $5.00 a month. The annual price is not stated in plain text on photopea.com, and neither is the current list of what Premium includes, so this page will not guess at either. Photopea for Schools starts at $450 a year for a whole institution, ad free and with no per-seat accounts, which is unusually sane pricing for education.

Photomop is free to use today and Pro is published at $8 a month, or $5 a month billed yearly, though it is not open for purchase yet. Both products are cheap enough that price is unlikely to decide this. Pick on whether you want a canvas with manual tools or a set of jobs with presets, because that is the real fork.

What each one costs

How much is Photomop against Photopea?

Both ladders in full, monthly and yearly, because the large number on a pricing page is almost always the yearly rate and almost nobody pays it in month one.

Plan by plan pricing for Photomop and Photopea, with what each plan includes
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Photomop Free$0 a monthEvery tool at full resolution, with no watermark on the way out
Photomop Pro$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearlyUnattended batch over a folder, HD background packs, an API with 1,000 images a month, early access to new tools. Not open for purchase yet
Photopea Premium$5.00 a monthA paid tier at five dollars a month. The annual price and the current list of what Premium includes are not published in plain text on photopea.com, and the original 2021 launch added no extra features and only supported the project
Photopea Photopea for SchoolsFrom $450 a year a monthInstitution wide and ad free for a whole school, with no per-seat accounts to create or manage
Photopea Photopea APIFree a monthThe API for embedding the editor inside another product is free to use

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photomop Pro is published but not open for purchase yet. The pricing page says so plainly and the changelog records the day that changes.

Who should pick Photomop, and who should pick Photopea?

Both columns are the same length on purpose. If ours were twice as long you would be reading an advert.

Photomop

Pick this if you want single jobs with presets, no ads, and five finished tools rather than a canvas to set up yourself.

  • Photos are processed on your own device and never uploaded
  • Free exports come back at the resolution you brought, with no watermark
  • No per-image credits and no account as things stand today
Open the toolbox

Photopea

Pick this if you want a real layer-based editor on your own hardware that opens PSD, XCF, Sketch, XD and CDR.

  • The privacy page states plainly that files opened in Photopea never leave your device and are processed by your own hardware
  • It opens PSD, XCF, Sketch, XD and CDR, so layered documents from other applications arrive with their structure intact
  • Layers, masks, layer styles, selections, text and vector shapes make it a general editor rather than a single-purpose tool
Visit Photopea

The honest version

The case against us is short and worth saying out loud: upscale image, remove object and passport photo do not have a working page yet, so those jobs need another tool today, and there is no hosted API today, so a workflow that needs one has to look elsewhere. If either of those is the thing you need this week, Photopea is the better answer today and this page is not going to argue otherwise.

Questions people ask

Photomop and Photopea, answered

The things people search for once they have narrowed it down to these two.

Does Photopea upload my files to a server?

No. Photopea's privacy page states that files you open in Photopea are never sent anywhere, that they never leave your device, and that they are processed completely inside your device by your own hardware. Photomop makes the same claim about its own tools, so on this specific point the two products are equals.

Is Photopea free to use?

The editor is usable without an account as things stand today, and an account is only needed for PeaDrive cloud storage or to buy Premium. It is funded by advertising instead: Photopea's own explainer says ads take up roughly 5% to 15% of the screen depending on the device you are on.

What does Photopea Premium include?

Photopea publishes Premium at $5.00 a month, but the current list of what it includes is not documented in plain text on photopea.com, so this page does not state one. The original 2021 launch note said the tier added no extra features and simply supported the project. Check before you buy.

Can Photopea open PSD files?

Yes. Photopea opens PSD as well as XCF, Sketch, XD and CDR, and keeps layers, masks and layer styles intact. That is one of the strongest reasons to use it. Photomop has no layer stack and does not open layered documents, so a PSD is a job for Photopea rather than for us.

Does Photomop have layers like Photopea?

No. Photomop is single-purpose tools with presets rather than a canvas with a layer stack, and it has no layer stack of any kind. For layer work, Photopea is the right choice.

Which is better for a quick resize or crop?

Photomop, in most cases, because the tool opens on the job with presets rather than on an empty document you have to set up. Photopea can do the same work and more, but it asks you to place the transform yourself each time. For a one-off with unusual requirements, Photopea wins.

Try the part that is built

Resize, crop, compress, convert and batch edit all work right now, on your own device, at full resolution and with no watermark. No account, nothing uploaded. Read how the on-device pipeline works if you want to check that claim before you trust it with a client’s photo, or the pricing page for where the paid line falls.