photomopOpen the studio

Ranked round-up

The best BeFunky alternatives

Six options, each checked against the vendor's own pricing page, with a plain note on what each free plan really allows and who it suits.

5 optionsChecked 10 August 2026We make one of them

The short answer

The best BeFunky alternative depends on which half of it you used. For collages, layouts and templates, Canva is the obvious comparison and goes further. For plain photo editing, Photopea offers a full canvas and Photomop offers focused tools, both running on your own hardware rather than a server.

Updated

The disclosure, before the list

We make Photomop, and it is first on this list. That is a conflict of interest, so here is what we have done about it: our entry carries the same shape as every other one, its cons are the real ones, and not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device. Every rival below is described in words taken from our own record of that product, with their pricing read at their own pages on 10 August 2026, and nothing is scored.

Key takeaways

  • BeFunky's free plan is basic tools with a limited selection of templates, in the vendor's own words.
  • Very few photo editors also do collages and templated design, so replacing both halves takes two tools.
  • BeFunky does not state where processing happens, which is worth checking if that matters to you.
  • Plus at $6.99 a month billed annually is mid-priced, so switching purely to save money rarely pays.
  • Photomop and Photopea are the only common alternatives that run on your own hardware.

The first thing to work out is which half of BeFunky you were actually using. It is two products under one subscription: a photo editor on one side, and a collage maker with templated design on the other. People who leave for one reason usually need a completely different replacement from people who leave for the other.

Prices below were read at each vendor's own pricing page in August 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a figure in plain text, this list says so rather than repeating a number from a review site. BeFunky's own help centre was not publicly readable when we checked, which is why several free-tier details are marked unconfirmed.

The list

The 5 best BeFunky alternatives, and who each one suits

Ordered by how far each one moves you away from the thing that sent you looking for a BeFunky alternative in the first place. Every entry names the reader it is genuinely right for, and none of them is right for everybody.

  1. On-device photo tools that run in the browser, at full resolution

    Photomop is the only option on this list that does the work on your own device rather than on a server. Your photo is read off disk into the tab, processed there, and written back out as a download, so there is no upload step and no queue. Not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device.

    What it does well

    • Photos are processed on your own device and are never uploaded
    • Free exports come back at the resolution you brought, with no watermark
    • Editing starts the moment the page loads, with no per-image credits

    Where it falls short

    • Upscale image, remove object and passport photo do not have a working page yet, so those jobs need another tool today
    • The first run of a model-backed tool downloads weights, roughly 13 MB to 115 MB, before anything happens
    • There is no hosted API today, so a workflow that needs one has to look elsewhere

    Pick it if Right for anyone who cannot or would rather not send a client photo to a server, and who wants a free export at the resolution they brought.

    Paid from: Free to use. Pro published at $8 a month, or $5 a month billed yearly

  2. A licensed generative AI platform sold to developers as an API, SDK and set of trainable models

    Bria is not a photo editor. It is a licensed generative AI platform sold to developers as an API, SDK and MCP interface, with models trained on data the company holds rights to and full IP indemnification attached. Pricing is per unit from $0.018 a generation with no monthly fee, and the free plan allows 100 generations.

    What it does well

    • Models trained on licensed data, with partners including Getty Images, Envato and Alamy
    • IP indemnification included, and unlimited cover available on an Enterprise contract
    • Per-unit pricing from $0.018 a generation, with no monthly commitment at all

    Where it falls short

    • No consumer editing interface, so it is useless for one image on a laptop
    • The free plan is 100 generations in total at 10 requests a minute
    • Enterprise pricing is custom, and pay-as-you-go indemnification is capped

    Pick it if you are building generative imaging into a product and need licensed training data and indemnification in the contract.

    Paid from: From $0.018 a generation a month

  3. A full online design suite whose background remover is one feature among hundreds of others

    Canva is a design suite, not a background remover, and the cut-out is one feature inside a workspace built for templates, brand kits and collaboration. That scope is the reason to pick it. Its own pricing pages refused automated access on 10 August 2026, so we quote no figure and no free tier limit here.

    What it does well

    • A whole design suite around the cut-out: templates, brand kits, layouts and printing
    • Built for teams, with shared assets and documents several people can work on at once
    • Background removal expertise in-house, since Canva owns remove.bg through Kaleido

    Where it falls short

    • Pricing, free tier limits and watermark policy could not be read at source on 10 August 2026
    • Images are processed on Canva's servers rather than on your own device
    • A great deal of product to open when all you needed was one file cut out

    Pick it if you want a design suite around the photo work and a shared workspace for the people you work with.

    Paid from: Not published

  4. Suite of single-purpose AI image tools with a free tier rate limited per 24 hours

    Clipdrop is a set of single-purpose tools rather than an editor, and its free tier is rate limited by the day instead of metered by credits. That means 20 background removals per 24 hours, 50 text removals, and a reset every morning. Pro raises removals to 1,000 a day, though its price is not rendered in the pricing page.

    What it does well

    • 20 free background removals per 24 hours, resetting daily rather than draining a balance
    • Cleanup, Relight, Uncrop and Text Remover sit alongside the cut-out
    • Free per tool limits are printed as plain numbers in the pricing page

    Where it falls short

    • No Pro price is rendered in the pricing page
    • Daily caps mean a large batch waits rather than finishing today
    • Web and API only, with no mobile or desktop app

    Pick it if you work in daily bursts of twenty or so images and want single-purpose tools rather than a full editor.

    Paid from: Not published

  5. An AI visual content platform covering cut-outs, retouching, passport photos and video background removal

    Cutout.Pro is a broad AI visual platform rather than a single tool: background removal, face cutout, retouching, colourising, video and a Passport Photo Maker, on web, mobile, desktop, Shopify and an API. Signup gives 5 credits and unused credits roll over up to five times the monthly allocation. Its US dollar ladder runs from $5.00 a month for 80 credits to $69.00 for 1450.

    What it does well

    • Rollover credits, up to five times the monthly allocation
    • A Passport Photo Maker, plus video background removal and a Shopify plugin
    • Runs on web, iOS, Android, Mac and Windows desktop and through an API

    Where it falls short

    • Pricing is served in the currency of the country it places you in, so the figure you see depends on where you are
    • No annual billing option was visible, so every tier is billed monthly
    • Watermark policy and free export resolution are not disclosed on the pricing page

    Pick it if you want one account covering cut-outs, video and passport photos, and rollover credits suit your uneven workload.

    Paid from: $5.00 a month

All of them at once

How do the BeFunky alternatives compare on price and privacy?

The four facts most people actually choose on. Where a vendor renders its prices in the browser rather than in the page, we say the figure is not published rather than repeating a number from a review site.

The BeFunky alternatives compared on where processing happens, what the free tier allows, and the entry price of a paid plan
OptionWhere it processesFree tierPaid from
PhotomopOn your own deviceEvery tool at the full resolution of the file you brought, no watermark on the export$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearly
BriaOn their servers, after your photo is uploadedA Free plan with 100 generations in total, full API, MCP, Skills and SDK access to all models, and a 10 requests a minute rate limitFrom $0.018 a generation a month
CanvaOn their servers, after your photo is uploadedCanva's free tier limits could not be confirmed at source, because every automated request to canva.com was refused on 10 August 2026Not published
ClipdropOn their servers, after your photo is uploaded20 background removals per 24 hours, with Cleanup, Relight and the x2 upscaler on the same daily allowance and Text Remover at 50Not published
Cutout.ProOn their servers, after your photo is uploaded5 free credits on signup, with previews described as permanently free and credits rolling over up to five times the monthly allocation$5.00 a month

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photomop free tier: Every tool at the full resolution of the file you brought, no watermark on the export. Every rival’s figures were read at that vendor’s own pages on 10 August 2026.

How should you choose between these?

List the last ten things you actually made. If most of them were collages, social layouts or templated graphics, you are shopping for a design tool and a photo editor will disappoint you no matter how good it is. If most were corrected or resized photographs, the reverse is true and you can spend far less.

Then check the free plan mechanism, because they differ sharply. Some cap resolution, some meter per tool, some carry ads and some are simply a limited feature set, which is how BeFunky describes its own. A plan that reads well in a comparison table can still stop you on the first real job, so test it.

Can anything replace BeFunky's collage and design tools?

Partly, and it is worth being honest that this is a real strength rather than a checkbox. The Collage Wizard, Smart Design Templates, Designer Smart Resize, Font Manager and Colour Management add up to a small design suite, and most tools people compare against BeFunky do not attempt any of it.

Canva is the closest comparison on that side and goes considerably wider. Photomop has no answer to it at all and is not building one, so if collages and layouts are why you subscribed, treat that as the deciding requirement rather than something to trade away for a lower monthly price.

So which one, then?

If you used BeFunky mainly for collages, templates and layouts, be careful about leaving on price alone. Plus at $6.99 a month billed annually buys a design suite, and replacing it with a cheaper photo editor is not a saving, it is a smaller product that will send you looking for a second subscription within a month.

If you used it mainly to correct, resize and convert photographs, the field is wide and much cheaper, and an on-device option removes the upload entirely. That is our own product, so the boundary is stated plainly: upscaling, object removal and the passport photo tool have no working page yet.

Questions people ask

Switching away from BeFunky

The practical questions that come up once you have picked something else.

What is the closest alternative to BeFunky?

Canva is the closest on the design and collage side and goes considerably wider, with a much larger template and asset library. On the plain photo editing side, Photopea offers a full manual canvas on your own hardware, and Photomop offers focused single-purpose tools that also run on your own device.

Is there a free alternative to BeFunky?

Several, though they meter differently. Photopea is free with ads covering roughly 5% to 15% of the screen. iLoveIMG's free plan caps each tool separately, at three background removals a month. Photomop is free to use today, with exports at the resolution you brought and no watermark applied.

Does BeFunky store my photos on a server?

The vendor does not state its processing model on any page we could read, and its help centre was not publicly accessible when we checked, so we cannot confirm this either way. As a web application with server-backed batch AI credits, treating it as a cloud service is the reasonable working assumption.

Which alternative is best for collages?

Canva, in most cases, because its template and asset library is far larger than anything else commonly compared here. BeFunky's own Collage Wizard remains strong and is cheaper at $6.99 a month billed annually. Focused photo tools such as Photomop and iLoveIMG do not make collages at all.

Which alternatives do not upload my photos?

Photomop runs every tool in the tab on your own hardware, and Photopea states on its privacy page that files opened in it never leave your device. Most other options commonly compared with BeFunky are cloud services, which means the image reaches a server before any work happens to it.

How current are the prices on this page?

Every figure was read at the vendor's own pricing page in August 2026, and each names the page it came from. Where a vendor does not publish a number in plain text, this list says so rather than quoting a figure we could not see at source. Check before you buy anything.

Or try the one that never uploads your photo

Resize, crop, compress, convert and batch edit work right now, on your own device, at full resolution and with no watermark. No account, nothing sent anywhere. The on-device page shows you how to verify that in a minute with your own network tab, and the changelog records each remaining tool on the day its page goes live.