photomopOpen the studio

Head to head

Photomop vs BeFunky

One is a design suite with collages and templates around a photo editor. The other is a focused set of tools that run on your own hardware. The overlap is smaller than a feature table suggests.

Prices checked 10 August 2026Nothing uploadedSources linked

The short answer

BeFunky is a web photo editor with a collage maker and design tools attached, priced at $14.99 a month for Plus or $6.99 billed annually, and $24.99 for Pro or $12.49 with 5,000 monthly Batch AI credits. Photomop is a focused tool set that processes files on your own device with nothing uploaded.

Updated

Key takeaways

  • BeFunky does collages, layouts and templated designs. Photomop does none of those and has no plans to.
  • BeFunky's free plan is described by the vendor as basic tools with a limited selection of templates.
  • BeFunky Pro includes 5,000 Batch AI credits a month, and unused credits do not roll over.
  • BeFunky does not state where processing happens, so this page treats it as a cloud service.
  • Photomop runs on your own hardware, so no file is uploaded, but upscaling and object removal are still in build.

What is actually built on our side today

Not every tool in the catalogue has a working page yet: upscale image, remove object and passport photo are still being built. Everything else runs today, on your own device. We put that first rather than at the bottom, because it is the thing most likely to send you to BeFunky instead, and you should find it out here rather than after you have opened a tab.

Side by side

Photomop and BeFunky, feature by feature

Every cell below is a fact one of the two of us publishes. Where we could not read a number on BeFunky’s own pages, the row says so rather than repeating what other sites claim.

Photomop compared with BeFunky on processing location, free tier limits, pricing and platform support
PhotomopBeFunky
Where processing happensOn your own device, in the tabOn their servers, after your photo is uploaded
Free export resolutionNo cap we impose. Your device sets the ceilingNot published
Watermark on a free exportNo watermark on any exportNot published
Free allowanceNo per-image credits and no export counterBasic photo editing tools and a limited selection of templates and assets, with the pricing page stating that you can export and use your edits with no subscription
Account to use the free toolEditing starts the moment the page loadsNot published
Paid plan starts at$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearly$14.99 a month, or $6.99 a month billed yearly
Where it runsWeb on desktop, Web on mobile, Works offline once loadedWeb, iOS, Android
Works with no connectionYes, once the page and any model are cachedNo, the image has to reach their servers

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • BeFunky figures were read at www.befunky.com on 10 August 2026. Pricing changes; check theirs before you buy.
  • We could not confirm at source: where BeFunky processes images, since the vendor does not state a processing model; the watermark policy on the free plan; any export resolution cap on the free plan; whether the free plan carries advertising; whether an account is required to use the free plan; the length of any free trial on the paid plans; whether BeFunky publishes a developer API; the iOS and Android store listings, which are referenced by the vendor but were not independently confirmed.

What is each one actually built to do?

BeFunky covers three jobs under a single subscription: photo editing, collage making and templated design. The Collage Wizard, Smart Design Templates, Designer Smart Resize, Watermark Manager, Font Manager and Colour Management all point squarely at somebody producing finished layouts rather than corrected photographs. That is a genuine strength of the product, and there is no Photomop equivalent to any part of it.

Photomop is narrower on purpose. Single-purpose tools covering background removal, resizing, cropping, compressing, converting and batch editing on your own hardware. If your job ends when the file is the right size and format, that is the whole requirement. If it ends with a finished layout, BeFunky is doing something we do not attempt.

What does each free plan actually give you?

BeFunky publishes a $0 a month plan with basic photo editing tools and a limited selection of templates and assets, and states on the pricing page that you can export and use your edits with no subscription. Beyond that, the specifics are hard to establish: their help centre returned an access error on every article we tried, so watermark policy, export caps and advertising could not be confirmed at source.

Photomop applies no export cap and no watermark, exports come back at the resolution you brought, and no account is needed as things stand today. That follows from where the work happens rather than from generosity. The honest caveat on our side is that upscaling, object removal and the passport photo tool do not have a working page yet.

How does batch work compare between the two?

Both take batch seriously, which is rarer than it should be. BeFunky puts a Batch AI Editor and a Batch Background Remover on its Pro plan, backed by 5,000 Batch AI credits a month. That is a lot of images, with one important qualification: the credits do not roll over, so a quiet month is simply lost rather than banked for a busy one.

Photomop's batch edit tool has a working page today and applies the same operation across a set of files on your own hardware, with no credit system because there is no server time to meter. It does not include upscaling or object removal yet, since those tools are still in build, so the two batch offerings do not cover quite the same ground.

Where does each one process your photo?

This is the one place where BeFunky is genuinely hard to assess, and it is fairer to say so than to guess. The vendor does not state its processing model anywhere we could read, and the help centre articles that might have covered it were not publicly accessible. As a web application with server-backed batch AI credits, treating it as a cloud service is the reasonable default.

Photomop is explicit by contrast. The model loads to your device once, caches, and every tool then runs in the tab on your own hardware. Nothing is uploaded on any tool or any plan, and you can watch your browser's network tab to confirm it. That claim is verifiable in about a minute rather than being a policy statement to take on trust.

Which one costs less over a year?

BeFunky Plus is $14.99 a month, or $6.99 a month billed annually, which is one of the larger annual discounts in this category. Pro is $24.99 a month or $12.49 billed annually and adds the batch AI tools with their 5,000 monthly credits. At annual rates that is roughly $84 or $150 a year respectively.

Photomop is free to use today and Pro is published at $8 a month or $5 a month billed yearly, though it is not open for purchase yet. The comparison is not really about money though. If you need collages and templates, no cheaper tool that lacks them is a saving, it is just a smaller product.

What each one costs

How much is Photomop against BeFunky?

Both ladders in full, monthly and yearly, because the large number on a pricing page is almost always the yearly rate and almost nobody pays it in month one.

Plan by plan pricing for Photomop and BeFunky, with what each plan includes
PlanPriceWhat it includes
Photomop Free$0 a monthEvery tool at full resolution, with no watermark on the way out
Photomop Pro$8.00 a month, or $5.00 a month billed yearlyUnattended batch over a folder, HD background packs, an API with 1,000 images a month, early access to new tools. Not open for purchase yet
BeFunky BeFunky Plus$14.99 a month, or $6.99 a month billed yearlyFull access to the premium editing and design tools
BeFunky BeFunky Pro$24.99 a month, or $12.49 a month billed yearlyBatch AI tools, including 5,000 Batch AI credits a month, which do not roll over

Slide the table sideways to see every column.

  • Photomop Pro is published but not open for purchase yet. The pricing page says so plainly and the changelog records the day that changes.

Who should pick Photomop, and who should pick BeFunky?

Both columns are the same length on purpose. If ours were twice as long you would be reading an advert.

Photomop

Pick this if your job ends when the file is the right size and format, and you would rather it was not uploaded.

  • Photos are processed on your own device and never uploaded
  • Free exports come back at the resolution you brought, with no watermark
  • No per-image credits and no account as things stand today
Open the toolbox

BeFunky

Pick this if you need collages, templated layouts and batch AI tools alongside photo editing, in a single subscription.

  • The Collage Wizard and Smart Design Templates cover design work that a plain photo editor does not attempt
  • Batch AI Editor and Batch Background Remover handle a folder at a time rather than one file
  • Designer Smart Resize, Watermark Manager and Font Manager are aimed at somebody producing at volume
Visit BeFunky

The honest version

The case against us is short and worth saying out loud: upscale image, remove object and passport photo do not have a working page yet, so those jobs need another tool today, and there is no hosted API today, so a workflow that needs one has to look elsewhere. If either of those is the thing you need this week, BeFunky is the better answer today and this page is not going to argue otherwise.

Questions people ask

Photomop and BeFunky, answered

The things people search for once they have narrowed it down to these two.

Is BeFunky free to use?

BeFunky publishes a plan at $0 a month with basic photo editing tools and a limited selection of templates and assets, and its pricing page states you can export and use your edits with no subscription. Watermark policy, export resolution caps and advertising could not be confirmed, because the help centre was not publicly readable.

How much does BeFunky cost?

BeFunky Plus is $14.99 a month, or $6.99 a month billed annually, for full access to the premium editing and design tools. BeFunky Pro is $24.99 a month, or $12.49 billed annually, and adds batch AI tools including 5,000 Batch AI credits a month that do not roll over.

Does BeFunky upload my photos?

BeFunky does not state its processing model on any page we could read, so this page treats it as a cloud service and says plainly that the point is unconfirmed. Photomop runs every tool on your own device inside the tab, so nothing is uploaded on any plan or by any tool.

Can Photomop make collages like BeFunky?

No. The Collage Wizard, Smart Design Templates, Font Manager and Colour Management are BeFunky features with no Photomop equivalent, and none is planned. Photomop is a set of single-purpose tools for resizing, cropping, compressing, converting and batching. If a finished layout is the deliverable, BeFunky does considerably more of that job.

Do BeFunky's Batch AI credits roll over?

No. BeFunky Pro includes 5,000 Batch AI credits a month and the pricing page states that they do not roll over, so an unused allowance is lost at the end of each month. If your workload is seasonal rather than steady, that is worth factoring into the annual cost calculation.

Which is better for batch editing?

It depends on the operation. BeFunky's Batch AI Editor and Batch Background Remover run on Pro against a monthly credit allowance. Photomop's batch edit tool works today on your own hardware with no credit system, though it does not yet cover upscaling or object removal, because those tools are still in build.

Try the part that is built

Resize, crop, compress, convert and batch edit all work right now, on your own device, at full resolution and with no watermark. No account, nothing uploaded. Read how the on-device pipeline works if you want to check that claim before you trust it with a client’s photo, or the pricing page for where the paid line falls.