Trusting a blog post's exact Temu pixel or megabyte figure, when Temu publishes none publicly and the in-account guidance is the only authoritative source.
Marketplaces · Temu
Temu Image Requirements
0 of the 9 image rules below come off pages Temu publishes. The rest say plainly where they came from.
The short answer
Temu publishes no product image specification on any page readable without a seller login. Its rules sit inside Seller Center, where the uploader rejects files that fail. Third party guidance puts the working standard at square images, at least 1600 pixels on the long edge, on a plain white background, with a minimum of three images and no watermark, text or border.
Updated
Check your file against this
What Temu asks for
Every row states where it comes from. A rule read off a page Temu publishes is marked as a primary source; a figure that circulates among sellers without appearing in the platform’s own documentation is marked and hedged, and it is never printed as though the two carry the same weight.
| Requirement | What Temu asks for | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Officially published pixel specification | None available publiclyWe could not confirm this at any source we trust, and Temu does not publish it. It is here because the claim circulates, not because we can stand behind it.seller.temu.com serves a marketing landing page and gates its Seller Academy behind a login. No image specification is published at temu.com or at the Temu partner documentation site either. | Unconfirmed |
| Minimum images required to publish | 3Reported by sellers and by support documentation. Temu does not state this figure on a page we could read, so treat it as a working number rather than a rule.Stated in inriver's product data requirements guide for Temu. Not confirmed on a Temu domain. | Reported |
| Minimum resolution | At least 1600 pixels on the longest sideReported by sellers and by support documentation. Temu does not state this figure on a page we could read, so treat it as a working number rather than a rule.Stated in inriver's product data requirements guide for Temu. Not confirmed on a Temu domain. | Reported |
| Main image background | White or neutral, with the product centred and clearly visibleReported by sellers and by support documentation. Temu does not state this figure on a page we could read, so treat it as a working number rather than a rule.Stated in inriver's product data requirements guide for Temu, and consistent with what Temu's storefront displays. | Reported |
| Shape | Square, 1:1We could not confirm this at any source we trust, and Temu does not publish it. It is here because the claim circulates, not because we can stand behind it.Temu's storefront and app render product cards square, so a square upload avoids an automatic crop. This is an observation of the storefront, not a published figure. | Unconfirmed |
| File format | JPEG or PNGWe could not confirm this at any source we trust, and Temu does not publish it. It is here because the claim circulates, not because we can stand behind it.Temu publishes no format list publicly. JPEG and PNG are the standard safe choices across comparable marketplaces. | Unconfirmed |
| Maximum file size | Not published publiclyWe could not confirm this at any source we trust, and Temu does not publish it. It is here because the claim circulates, not because we can stand behind it.Enforced by the Seller Center uploader rather than documented. Any specific megabyte figure quoted elsewhere is not traceable to Temu. | Unconfirmed |
| Overlays, watermarks and borders | Not published as a numbered ruleWe could not confirm this at any source we trust, and Temu does not publish it. It is here because the claim circulates, not because we can stand behind it.Treat them as disqualifying. Temu reviews listings against the category norm, and no comparable marketplace permits promotional overlay on a main image. | Unconfirmed |
| Additional images | Multiple angles, material close-ups and lifestyle context recommended beyond the required minimumReported by sellers and by support documentation. Temu does not state this figure on a page we could read, so treat it as a working number rather than a rule.Stated in inriver's product data requirements guide for Temu. | Reported |
Slide the table sideways to see every column.
- Primary source means the value is read off a page Temu publishes, linked under Sources below. 0 of 9 rows here are primary.
- Reported means sellers and support documentation agree on the figure but Temu does not state it anywhere we could read. 4 rows are reported.
- Unconfirmed means the claim circulates and we could not stand it up at any source. 5 rows are unconfirmed, and they are labelled that way in the table rather than left to look like the rest.
- Platforms change these rules without announcing them. Every source below carries the date it was read, and the figures here were checked on 10 August 2026.
Why this matters on Temu
Say the awkward part first. Temu does not publish its image specification on the open web. Seller Center requires a login before it shows you any rule, the partner documentation serves nothing to a plain request, and no help article at temu.com carries pixel numbers. Every precise figure circulating in blog posts traces back to another blog post rather than to Temu.
That matters because Temu's enforcement is blunt. Listings are reviewed before they go live, and a rejection arrives as a status change rather than a diagnosis. You are told the product did not pass, not which image caused it, so sellers resubmit one change at a time and lose days.
Temu also competes on visual sameness. Its category grids are dense, uniform and white, and a main image carrying a coloured border, a supplier watermark or a discount roundel reads as an outlier before a buyer has processed the product.
The walkthrough
How do you get a photo through Temu?
5 things in order, each one answering a question a seller actually types.
Where do Temu's actual rules live?
Inside Seller Center, behind your login. If you hold an account, open the product upload flow, read the guidance beside the image field, then check your specific category, because Temu varies the rules by category. That in-account text is the only authoritative version and beats anything published elsewhere, including this page. If you do not hold an account yet, build to the standards below.
Is the main image square, large and on white?
Three things travel together on Temu. Crop to a 1:1 square, since the app and site render product cards square and will crop anything else themselves. Keep the file at least 1600 pixels on the longest side, the figure third party seller guidance reports. Put the product on a plain white or neutral background, centred, with a little margin all round. White is not stylistic here, it is what the entire Temu grid looks like. Photomop is a photo studio that runs on your own device and its background remover puts a product on flat white in one step.
Do you have at least three images, each showing something new?
Three images is the reported minimum, and it is a floor rather than a plan. Temu buyers expect the photographs to answer everything.
- Main image: the product alone, front on, plain white background
- Alternate angles: side, back, the part that matters
- Material close-up: the weave, the grain, the finish, the stitching
- Scale: the product held, or beside something of obvious size
- Lifestyle: the product where it will actually be used
The material close-up earns its place most, because Temu buyers ask about quality above all else.
Have you stripped everything the supplier baked in?
If you source from a supplier catalogue, the images arrive carrying decoration that will not survive review and will not sell. Strip all of it.
- The supplier's brand mark or watermark, often tiled faintly across the whole image
- Dual language text describing features
- Price flashes, discount roundels and free shipping banners
- Coloured borders, gradient frames and drop shadows
- Collage layouts cramming four views into a single square
The collage is the one sellers defend and should not: a four-panel main image renders each panel at a quarter size in the grid, which makes every one illegible.
Does the image match what you actually ship?
Temu polices this harder than any pixel rule and the penalty is heavier. If the photograph shows a colour, material, size or set of accessories that differs from what arrives, the outcome is returns, negative reviews and, on repeat, action against the shop rather than the listing. Photograph each variant rather than reusing one colour across all of them, and if your price covers a single unit, do not photograph a set of three.
The settings, in one place
The Photomop preset for Temu
Cut the product out and place it on flat white, then square the canvas to 1:1 at 1600 pixels on each side with an even margin around the product, matching the resolution third party Temu seller guidance reports and the white grid Temu actually displays.
Remove background runs on your own device, at full resolution, with no watermark on the export.
What goes wrong on Temu
Every one of these is a real rejection or a real drop in placement, not a matter of taste.
Uploading a supplier catalogue image with the watermark, feature text or discount roundel still on it.
Using a four-panel collage as the main image, which renders each panel at a quarter size and illegible in the grid.
Leaving the product on the supplier's grey or gradient background when the whole Temu grid is white.
Reusing one colour's photograph across every variant, which drives returns and eventually action against the shop.
Questions sellers ask
Temu image requirements, answered
The questions people search for once a photo has already been refused.
What image size does Temu require?
Temu does not publish a figure on the open web, and Seller Center gates the rules behind a login. Third party guidance reports at least 1600 pixels on the longest side, so square images at 1600 x 1600 on white are the safe interpretation.
Why can I not find Temu's official image rules?
Because they sit inside Seller Center rather than a public help centre. seller.temu.com serves a marketing page and requires registration first, and the partner documentation site returns nothing to a plain request.
How many images does a Temu listing need?
A minimum of three to publish, according to third party seller guidance. Treat that as the floor: listings that convert carry a plain white main image plus alternate angles and a material close-up.
My listing was rejected and Temu did not say why. What do I check?
Work through the likely causes in order: an overlay or watermark, a collage main image, a non-white background, resolution below roughly 1600 pixels, fewer than three images, or a photograph that does not match the variant sold. Change one thing per resubmission.
Can I reuse my Amazon or AliExpress images on Temu?
Plain white product shots usually transfer well. What does not is anything carrying a store name, feature text or a promotional badge, or any image whose rights belong to the supplier.
Where these Temu rules come from
Each link is the page the figures were read at, with the date it was opened and whether it could be read at all.
- Temu Seller Center, landing page only, the image specification sits behind a seller loginOpened and read in full on .
- Temu Partner Platform documentation, no content served to non-browser clientsThe page returns a not-found error, so the rule may have moved on .
- Temu, Sell on Temu page, no content servedThe page returns a not-found error, so the rule may have moved on .
- inriver, Product data requirements for Temu, third party guidanceOpened and read in full on .
Same cluster
More platform guides
Neighbouring guides, so every platform in the set is one hop from every other.
Shopify
Shopify accepts product images up to 5000 x 5000 px or 25 megapixels and under 20 MB. Square images display best at 2048 x 2048, and zoom needs over 800 x 800.
Vinted
Vinted allows up to 20 photos per listing and rejects images over 9 MB. It sets no pixel size. Here are the ownership and content rules that get listings hidden.
Poshmark
Poshmark publishes no pixel size for listing photos. Here is what it does set: 16 photos and 1 video per listing, a portrait Covershot, and how the crop works.
From the studio
The tools this guide uses
Each one runs in the browser tab you are reading this in, on your own device.
Remove background
One clean cut-out, hair and all, at whatever resolution you brought.
Resize image
Exact pixels, or a marketplace preset that already knows the rules.
Upscale image
Double the pixels on a small product shot without the mush. The page for it is still in progress, so this card opens the toolbox.
Batch edit
Queue a whole folder and let the tab work through it.
Keep reading
Elsewhere on Photomop
Image glossary
A hundred photo editing terms, defined in plain words and filed by the job they do.
Read itResize image
Exact pixels, marketplace presets and an aspect lock, run on your own device.
Read itCompress image
Name a file size limit and the tool re-encodes until the photo fits it.
Read itAll the tools
The whole toolbox in three families, with what each one needs before it can run.
Read it
Get the file right before you upload it
Photomop is a photo studio that runs on your own device. Resize to the exact pixels Temu asks for, compress to the weight limit, convert the format and batch the lot, all at full resolution with no watermark. The image glossary explains any word in the table above.